Selective Editing

One thing that you will learn quickly when shooting birds/wildlife is that you will not always have the perfect position in order to capture the shot without flaws, such as harsh sunlight and heavy shadows. A few weeks ago my mentor contacted me and told me about selective editing. With a few video’s and some practice I have gained some experience in this useful type of editing. I will save an otherwise passed over shot. While I don’t claim any knowledge of this type editing, its just like anything else with photography, practice makes perfect. So I’ll keep working with my newly discovered editing process.

10 thoughts on “Selective Editing

  1. Generally I try to expose for the light areas since a blow out has unrecoverable lack of detail and shadows tend to contain detail. If I like a picture enough to want to fix it, I’ll generally adjust for the picture as a whole in the RAW screen, bring it into Photoshop. Then go back and readjust the RAW file for the bad highlights and pull that into Photoshop. Then copy so that both images are on the same layer set and use masking to reveal the desired parts and reduce or eliminate the too dark or too light areas. But, there are many ways it is true to balance an image. That is generally my starting point if its correctable in RAW. But, you have to have content to do that. A blown highlight is absent information so you’d be forced to cover the area by cloning on content aware depending on where it is and how big the area.

    1. Thanks Judy I do have a lot more to learn with both photography and especially Photoshop. I adjusted everything in Camera RAW. I used the selective brush to lighten the area of shade especially around the eyes, and then I used it to knock down some of the brightness of the leaves. I am sure I could have done a better job of it and was sure I could have when I realized I forgot to use any noise reduction. I use Utube a lot to learn a new technique, so I will see if I can find anything to work on the shot like you suggested.

  2. You tube does have many helpful tutorials. Much of my own learning was via online tutorials. I didn’t have much vision I guess because poked around on my own to see what all the tools did and thought, OK then what? A tutorial that shows you how to get from Capture A to End Result B using those tools will really help. Plus in Photoshop and other software there is more than one way to do the same thing. The important thing is to determine which way in natural to you and which way is least destructive to the picture. Nice to do the adjustments without adding unwanted artifacts or grain etc. If you ever have any questions I can answer on a specific thing I’d try and answer and show you what I’d do. Still learning here too and haven’t scratched the surface of what can be done. I haven’t even gotten started on Lightroom yet!! And you have me curious to pick a Topaz Filter set and play!!

Leave a Reply

