The Down Pour

It was one of those days where the heat and humidity was cranking, keeping one eye on the arena and the other eye on the weather, I was thankful I had someone there that had a canopy set up. We were talking if the young lady would get her run in before it started rain. As soon as she entered the arena it started raining we all dashed for the canopy as the heaven opened up, I did my best to get some shots of her as we were all trying for the same spot under the canopy. The wind was blowing the rain in on us, but we were setting pretty good compared to the girl and her horse. It was pouring in buckets by the time she reached the third barrel. As she exited the arena all racing was stopped as the water was standing all around us. Would have liked to have gotten a better shot, but what can you do when everybody is getting in front of you while your trying to shoot. Don’t blame them cause that rain was cold, Even though I cut the horse’s head off they loved the photo of the wet run.

5 thoughts on “The Down Pour

  1. I really like this action shot in the rain. It is super. Of course, I am a rain lover here in the Pacific Northwest. I like horses as well–and women too! This photograph has everything going for it.

  2. Boy do I remember days like this one. I lived near Aiken, South Carolina doe 13 years, just across the state line from Augusta, GA. It’s one of the main reasons I decided NOT to retire in the South. The heat, humidity & bugs were horrible there. “Frog Strangler” rains were so common in the south. Of course with the high humidity you didn’t need to be out in it to get drenched. πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks you all for the kind comments, The young lady is a third generation cousin, she calls me uncle which is fine by me. I created her a custom t-shirt, not of this shot but another shot. Her horse passed away late summer or early fall. I will be delivering the shirt to her on Saturday on my way to the rodeo.

Leave a Reply

